Naflafiwrimo Day 4: The Perfect Day for a Picnic

If you like this story, you might also like these. I wrote it sat at my desk by my window in the sun, which is probably where the idea came from.

The Perfect Day for a Picnic

 

The food and drink are ready, I’ve tidied the place up and the weather is beautiful, far too nice for anyone to want to stay indoors. It is, in fact, the perfect day for a picnic.

So where are all my guests? It’s not like they haven’t had plenty of notice.

I sit and wait for half an hour but no-one arrives.

Why aren’t they coming? Maybe I got the date wrong on the invitations or something.

I go back inside, but there it is, written on the wall.

Time travellers, you are all invited to my picnic here at midday, 67 million years BC. It will be a wonderful afternoon, I do hope you can come.

I bet no-one’s coming. They’re all probably hanging out in less predatory time periods. It’s not fair, we have such lovely ferns here but no-one cares.

Oh well, you get used to this kind of thing when you’re a dinosaur.

 

About lemonmachine

I am Kieren McCallum, a third-year English Literature student at UEA, Norwich. View all posts by lemonmachine

5 responses to “Naflafiwrimo Day 4: The Perfect Day for a Picnic

Leave a Reply

